Top Ten Tuesday: Galentine’s Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by beautiful blog The Broke and the Bookish. For the day that’s in it, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about the romance. However, in the spirit of Leslie Knope and Galentine’s Day (13th February) here are some of my favourite book friendships!

galentines

The Spinster Club by Holly Bourne

Normal

Cover image from Goodreads

If you’ve read this blog before, you will have seen me rave about these books before. I think Holly Bourne is one of the best voices in contemporary YA, and I just adore the girls of the Spinster Club. While each protagonist has a boyfriend at some point in the series, what is most important is their friendship, how they support each other through everything.

Iron Cast  – Destiny Soria

Image result for cast iron destiny soria

I really need to give this book a full review on the blog, it’s brilliant! Set just before the Prohibition era, this book focuses on a strong female friendship, mixed in with magic, mobsters and just a hint of romance. As Corinne and Ada, the unlikely best friends in the book, would say: it’s the cat’s miaow!

The Primrose Leary trilogy by Deirdre Sullivan

Image result for prim improper

I adore this trilogy. Prim’s diaries made me laugh and cry, her voice is wonderfully strong and distinctive. One of the things I loved most about these books was Prim’s friendships – Prim and Joel are just hilarious together (mustachioed babies!) and I really enjoyed seeing Prim’s friendship with Ella develop.

 

Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Six

These fantasy heist novels are not only cracking page turners with head-spinningly intricate plotting, they feature a motley crew of fantastic characters. It’s not always friendship as such, but I loved seeing the bonds develop between the characters throughout the books, and they make one hell of a team!

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares

Related image

Oh these books. I have read them many, many times and it’s been interesting to see how my opinions on the different characters have changed (I’m much more of a Bridget fan now than I used to be, for example). I think they offer a very real picture of how friendship can change as you grow, but also how wonderful a true friend can be. Must (finally) watch the movies this year!

The Real Rebecca series by Anna Carey

Image result for the real rebecca

A series of books about three friends who set up a band (Hey Dollface) together. Told through diary entries these are really fun reads with a strong message about being yourself. Again they show friends don’t always get on or agree, but when it matters they are there.

Last Chance Saloon by Marian Keyes

Last Chance

My favourite Marian Keyes book. Tara, Fintan and Katherine are wonderful and memorable characters and while they all have their own romances, struggles and dramas to deal with in this book, their friendship is what makes it.

 

 

 

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon

I have stated many a time how happy the romance at the centre of this book makes me,  I won’t spoil the mystery of Simon’s boy Blue for anyone here. However, another thing I really enjoyed was Simon and his friends. The dynamics of the friend group are explored well, and Abby is a fantastic character.

The Moonlight Dreamers by Siobhán Curham

Image result for the moonlight dreamers

The Moonlight Dreamers is a secret society, inspired by an Oscar Wilde quote, is for girls who don’t quite fit in, girls who dare to dream. The four girls are very different, and this book is a very empowering read about going your own way.

 

Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Image result for murder most unladylike

Boarding school murder mysteries? Yes please! Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are best friends and amateur sleuths, and can’t wait to read more of their cases!

Post a link to your TTT below, let’s share the book love!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Galentine’s Reads

  1. Really looking forward to reading “Six of Crows” which I’ve read is fabulous. I’m also curious about the Sisterhood books. I’ve seen both of the movies (and love them!), so at some point I think I’d like to read the books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

