Recent Reads

Christmas is coming and we are busy busy busy in the bookshop! Here are some quickfire reviews of the last five books I read.

Rooftoppers – Katherine Rundell

Image result for rooftoppers katherine rundell

This has been on my TBR list for a while, and it did not disappoint! A soaring tale of adventure, love and hope set on the rooftops of Paris. It’s beautifully written, and Sophie is a winning heroine. It has a real classic feel, fans of Cornelia Funke and Eva Ibbotson will love this!

9+

The One Memory of Flora Banks – Emily Barr

Image result for the one memory of flora bansk

Out in Jan 2017 – thanks LoveReading4Kids for the ARC!

A tense and exciting YA thriller, a very impressive debut from Emily Barr. Flora Banks has anterograde amnesia, meaning she has no short term memory. When a memory sticks, it sets Flora off on a mission to try and cure herself.

The Making of Mollie – Anna Carey

Image result for the making of mollie anna carey

I really enjoyed this novel – historical fiction with warm and likeable characters. Set in Dublin 1912 and told through letters, this is the story of teenage suffragettes who want votes for women. Entertaining and enjoyable, and I love the cover illustrated by Lauren O’Neill.

10+

Murder Most Unladylike – Robin Stevens

Image result for murder most unladylike

A jolly-good murder mystery! Think Enid Blyton meets Agatha Christie. Hazel is an excellent narrator, and I loved how the book was structured as her casebook. I love the Detective Society, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

9+

Swing Time – Zadie Smith

Image result for swing time zadie smith

I have wanted to read Zadie Smith’s writing for a long time, and I am happy to say that Swing Time exceeded all my expectations. It is beautifully written, and explores themes of family, friendship, race, place and dancing. It is such an insightful study of character, and I  just loved how she wrote about bodies and dancing. I am keen to read more of Zadie Smith’s books now!

2 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. I’ve been meaning to read something by Zadie Smith for the longest time! I hoping to read something during this winter break… maybe White Teeth, since that’s her debut novel? Anyways, glad to hear that you enjoyed Swing Time!

Leave a Reply

