Top Ten New-To-Me Authors 2016

TTT

An ever-so-slightly belated TTT, the best new-to-me authors of this year! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature combining lists and books, run by the lovely folk at The Broke and the Bookish

Leigh Bardugo

soc

I loved Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom – intricately plotted fantasy adventures with fantastic characters.

Zadie Smith

st

I have been meaning to read Zadie Smith’s work for a long time, and I have just finished Swing Time. I adored it, Smith’s writing certainly lived up to my expectations.

Laura Ruby

bg

Bone Gap was one of the best books I read this year. I’m delighted that it is being released in Ireland and the UK this month (I received an ARC, and it is already available in the US). Stunning magical realism, I was enchanted by it.

 

Hannah Rothschild

iol

I adored The Improbability of Love, it is one of my staff picks in the bookshop now. Set in the London art world, and featuring a mix of mystery, history and romance, this book is perfect for art lovers.

Curtis Sittenfeld

e

I really enjoyed Eligible, Curtis Sittenfeld’s spirited retelling of Pride & Prejudice, and I also read her novel Prep – an engrossing coming-of-age story.

Samantha Ellis

htbah

How to be a Heroine is part literary criticism, part memoir and I loved it. Ellis’ life is fascinating, and her love of reading leaps right off the page.

 

Dave Rudden

kotbd

Knights of the Borrowed Dark was a cracking fantasy adventure, and I am excited about the second book, due out in 2017. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson will love KOTBD, and Dave Rudden is certainly a writer to watch!

 

Melissa Keil

cg

Melissa Keil is an Australian author, and her book The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl was released in the UK and Irish market this year. I adored Alba and her story, and I am keen to track down some of Keil’s earlier books.

Jan Carson

cc

Jan Carson’s short story collection Children’s Children is full of strange, moving and memorable stories, and I loved that they were set in Northern Ireland. Her novel Malcolm Orange Disappears is on my TBR list.

Frances Hardinge

lt

Frances Hardinge is another writer who has been on my list for some time, and when I read the Costa award winning Lie Tree, I was enthralled. I will be catching up on the rest of her novels for sure.

Post the link to your TTT below, point me to more amazing authors 🙂

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s