Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Love, But Don’t Talk About Enough

I wrote this post on Tuesday, bur I forgot to post it. So here’s a Top Ten Tuesday for your Wednesday!

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and Bookish. Each week they come up with a great topic for book bloggers to make lists about. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Really Love, But Don’t Talk About Enough. This was a tricky one, as I tend to gush a lot about books I have enjoyed, but I thought back to some of the books I really enjoyed growing up, or books I often return to, that I haven’t necessarily blogged about.

 

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfield

2251927

Look how beautiful this hardback edition is! (cover image from Goodreads)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was a favourite book of mine growing up, and I have lost count of how many times I have read it. I think one of the reasons I love it so much is that it is a story about sisters (I have three sisters myself, and Little Women is another sister story I love). A few years ago one of my sisters gave me a beautiful cloth covered hardback edition of this book, such a wonderful present. My old paperback version of the book is very well-read!

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Attachments

Cover image from Goodreads

 

I have written a lot on this blog about how wonderful I think Rainbow Rowell is, but I haven’t fully expressed my love for Attachments. Rowell’s first book, it has a very sweet romance but what I really love is the friendship between Jennifer and Beth. Moving and funny, and I loved the use of emails in the narrative. I’ve lent this book to so many people – I think eight people have read my copy so far!

Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series by Ann Brashares

260792

Cover image from Goodreads

I re-read this series every couple of years, I think the characters are all so strong and that Brashares writes very well about their friendship and how it changes as they grow older. Interestingly, I have come to identify with different characters and understand their point of view more as I have grown and changed myself.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

4327066

Cover image from Goodreads

Another book I return to again and again. I wish I had read it sooner, it is such a powerful coming of age story and one of the most moving books I have ever read. ‘I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.’

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

12478803

Cover image from Goodreads

I didn’t read The Bell Jar until I was 21, but I think that was quite good timing as I really connected with Esther’s sense of uncertainty about her place in the world and where her life was going. Like Plath’s poetry, this novel is painful and poignant. When I tried to re-read it a few months ago I had to put it down, it was just too much. I still think on quotes from this book from time to time.

The Princess Diaries (books 1 to 3) by Meg Cabot

10345824

Cover image from Goodreads

I grew up reading these books, and really connected with Cabot’s awkward and unlikely princess. I think the first three books are the series at its best.

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

444323

Cover image from Goodreads

A really brilliant fairytale retelling, and one of the books I remember being completely entranced by as a young reader. Whenever I spot this book on my shelves at home, or on the bookshelves at work, I get an echo of that excitement.

Persuasion by Jane Austen

31693

Cover image from Goodreads

In general I don’t talk enough about Jane Austen, and it was tough to choose between Pride & Prejudice and Persuasion for this list, but in the end I went for the latter as it gets less attention and should be spoken about more!

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

290305

Cover image from Goodreads

I was struck by Woolf’s writing style when I read this book, and the way she lets the reader into the heads of her protagonists is really striking.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott

977841

Cover image from Goodreads

I loved this series of books when I was growing up, and eagerly awaited each new installment. They are fantastic fantasy adventures, and Scott brings characters from myth, legend and history into the books in very interesting ways.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Love, But Don’t Talk About Enough

  1. I love Rainbow Rowell, but I haven’t read Attachments yet. I think I have to now.
    The Goose Girl was also one of my favorites growing up and is at least partially responsible for my love of fairy tale retellings even now. I’m so happy to see it on your list.

    • I’m sure you will really enjoy Attachments. Isn’t Rainbow Rowell wonderful? Glad to find another fan of The Goose Girl, it’s a long-time favourite of mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

