Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I REALLY Want to Meet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Authors I REALLY Want to Meet. I have been lucky to meet some really great writers and illustrators at book festivals and events, but there are many more I would love to meet! This was a hard list to make, hopefully I will meet some of these wonderful writers in the future…

Cornelia Funke

Cornelia Funke

Image from Goodreads.

Inkheart is one of my very favourite books. It is a book for lovers of books, with each chapter starting with a quote. It really is a magical book, and one I vividly remember reading for the first time years ago.The Inkworld is absolutely enchanting, and I would love to meet the woman who created such wonderful books.

J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling

Image from Goodreads.

I imagine this author will make many of the TTT lists this week! Can you imagine meeting J.K. Rowling…how amazing would that be?! I love the Harry Potter books so much, I imagine I would be speechless!

Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell

Image from Goodreads.

I love Rainbow Rowell’s books – Fangirl is my favourite, followed by Attachments. I would love to meet her, and be her friend of course! I missed the Landline launch in New York by one day but my very lovely friend Kathleen was there, and got me a signed copy of the book. I treasure my signed copy, and hope to meet Rainbow Rowell myself some day. She did tell my friend she might come to Ireland…

Meg Cabot

Meg Cabot

Image from Goodreads.

I have read more books by Meg Cabot than any other author – over 30! – and I think she would be a lot of fun to talk to. I am a big fan of both her YA and adult books. I love Teen Idol and Victoria and the Rogue. I grew up reading the Princess Diaries books, and am eagerly awaiting Royal Wedding, the next installment of Mia’s story.

Jane Austen

Image from Goodreads.

Image from Goodreads.

No one said this had to be a realistic list! What Austen fan wouldn’t want to travel back in time and meet the writer of such timeless classics as Pride & Prejudice and Persuasion?

Shannon Hale

Shannon Hale

Image from Goodreads.

The Goose Girl is another book I love, and remember being enthralled by when I first read it. I would love to discuss fairy tales with Shannon Hale. Since she wrote Austenland, we could also talk about our favourite Austen books! She writes brilliant articles on her blog as well, such as this one about gendering books: No Boys Allowed: School Visits as a Woman Writer

Maria V. Snyder

Maria V Snyder

Image from Goodreads.

I haven’t been reading much fantasy lately, but it is a genre I love and I really enjoyed Maria V. Snyder’s Study Trilogy. Yelena is such a strong character, and the plots of the books were very exciting and compelling. I always get sucked in to the exciting worlds of Snyder’s books, and I would love to meet her.

Michael Scott

Michael Scott

Image from Goodreads.

I really enjoyed Scott’s The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, it was exciting and compelling, and I loved all the references to history and mythology. I think he would be a really interesting person to meet, I would love to discuss which historical characters he most enjoyed researching and writing about.

Jandy Nelson

Image from Goodreads.

Image from Goodreads.

I have been fans of most of the authors on this list for quite some time, but I just finished Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You The Sun and I loved it (review coming very soon!). She writes so powerfully, and her passionate descriptions of art blew me away. Art is a great love of mine, and I would really enjoy discussing it with her. I really can’t wait to read The Sky Is Everywhere.

Brian Selznick

Brian Selznick

Image from Goodreads.

I am really interested in illustration, and loved The Invention of Hugo Cabret which is told through both words and pictures. I would love to talk to Brian Selznick about the different modes of storytelling he uses and about creating his stunning illustrations.

Please post a link to your Top Ten Tuesday in the link, or let me know if you have met any of these authors!

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I REALLY Want to Meet

  1. Meg Cabot ! Totally forgot her on my list , read so many of her books in hig school . I loved the princess diaries books so much , it would be amazing to meet her . Great list 😄

  2. For just a moment, I saw Michael Scott and thought of the character from The Office. 🙂

    I get the feeling that the line to meet JK Rowling would be VERY long based on the replies I’ve seen today.

  3. Would love to meet Jandy Nelson. She was at the Decatur Book Festival last year and I was too, but I’d never read anything by her. I really regret not buying I’ll Give You the Sun then and having her sign it.

Leave a Reply

