Review: One More Thing: stories and other stories by B.J. Novak

One More Thing is a collection of short stories by B.J. Novak, actor, producer and writer most famous for his role in the US version of The Office. I have been trying to read more short stories lately – they are well-suited to bus journeys, and to reading around college work. Some of Novak’s stories are very short indeed – the shortest being only a couple of sentences, the longest are only about 12 pages.

Image from Amazon

Image from Amazon

One More Thing: stories and other stories

B.J. Novak

Little Brown, 2014

I enjoyed Novak’s sense of humour – some of the stories have discussion questions at the end, and there were plenty of smiles and chuckles throughout. I like the way characters cropped up again in different stories. Some of my favourites were ‘The Girl Who Gave Great Advice’, ‘Julie and the Warlord’, ‘All You Have To Do’, ‘The Man Who Invented The Calendar’ and ‘If You Love Something’. I don’t want to spoil any of the stories, but there is a mix of everyday situations, wacky ‘what ifs’, musings on life, or stories involving celebrities (for example ‘Johnny Depp, Fate and the Double-Decker Hollywood Tour Bus’). I wasn’t surprised that the stories were funny,  but the emotional side to some of them was unexpected. There were a couple of stories I didn’t like, but overall this was an enjoyable and witty read. Novak’s wry humour, ear for dialogue and crazy imagination makes for a funny collection of stories. I would definitely recommend this book, but to an adult audience!

I attended B.J. Novak’s One More Thing event in the Project Arts Centre in Dublin, and it was great to hear him read some of the stories aloud. The stories are very much designed to be performed, and he had everyone laughing. Fun fact from the q & a – his favourite episode of The Office is ‘The Injury’ (Season 2: Episode 12) in which MIchael Scott burns his foot on a grill when preparing breakfast in bed.

Myself and B.J. Novak at his event in the Project Arts Centre

With B.J. Novak at his event in the Project Arts Centre

3 thoughts on “Review: One More Thing: stories and other stories by B.J. Novak

  1. This is great! I’ve had this on my desk for about a week now. Thanks for sharing! I’m looking forward to reading. If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

  2. That’s so cool that you got to meet him! I recently bought a copy of this book and I’m super excited to read it. I absolutely love The Office, and I can’t wait to see his awesome sense of humor translated to book form. Great review!

Leave a Reply

