Review: No Matter The Wreckage – Sarah Kay

I am a big fan of Sarah Kay’s spoken word performances, so I was delighted to hear she has a poetry collection out. I got it for Christmas, and it was my first read of 2015.

wpid-20150107_221946.jpg

No Matter The Wreckage

Sarah Kay

Write Bloody Publishing (2014) 

Poetry

No Matter The Wreckage is Sarah Kay’s debut collection of poetry, featuring a selection of poems from a decade of writing. It is a beautiful book – the cover by Anis Mojgani matches the spirit of adventure and discovery (of new places and of the self) found in the poems. Sophia Janowitz’s illustrations inside also accentuate the poems, each section beginning with illustrations of objects linked to the poems.

wpid-20150107_222759.jpg

I really enjoyed reading this book, I love the mixture of poems – poems about discovering new places, deeply personal poems about love, and loss and finding out who you are. I was glad to see some poems that were familiar from Sarah Kay’s YouTube videos, such as ‘B’ (see link below), but also plenty of new poems. I know this is a book I will return to and read over and over. I have marked my favourite poems in the contents so I can find them easily.

wpid-20150107_222117.jpg

One of my favourites was a love poem entitled ‘The Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire’. It begins:

‘They told me that I was meant for the cleaner life:

that you would drag me through the mud’

I loved this line;

‘If loving you means getting dirty, bring on the grime’

No Matter The Wreckage is a rewarding read, it is honest, wise and emotional. She expresses herself beautifully, and I found myself slowing down to enjoy the words and think about the meaning of the poems. Reading this book gave me goosebumps. An excellent start to my reading for 2015, I look forward to Sarah Kay’s next collection. Also, as a lot of Sarah Kay’s performances can be found on YouTube, you can have the added pleasure of hearing her read poems in the collection.

4 thoughts on “Review: No Matter The Wreckage – Sarah Kay

Leave a Reply

