Bookshops of New York!

I am just back from a fantastic holiday in New York, where I had a lot of fun adventures. I will be posting soon about the wonderful art galleries I saw there, but first here is a little bit about the bookshops I visited!

The Strand Bookstore (http://www.strandbooks.com/)

DSCF0996 DSCF0997

18 miles of books! Established in 1927, this bookshop is a haven for book lovers, packed with new and old books and much more! What an amazing shop…there are many towering shelves, packed with books. It is also the setting of the wonderful YA novel Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I could spend hours browsing the shelves – and there is a huge selection of art books too!

I managed to resist buying all the wonderful books in The Strand, but I am delighted with my new owl tote bag – can’t wait to use it.

DSCF1460

Books of Wonder (http://www.booksofwonder.com/)

DSCF1373DSCF1381

 

 

 

Books of Wonder has an excellent selection of children’s and YA books, but what I loved most was the exhibition of illustration. It is a fascinating selection – with prints by artists such as Oliver Jeffers, Chris van Allsburg and Steve Light, works based on the Wizard of Oz, some fantastic illustrations of the Narnia books and much more! It is an enchanting exhibition – and they have so many great books to browse too.

DSCF1374

DSCF1375

DSCF1377 DSCF1376

I bought Dangerous by Shannon Hale in Books of Wonder. I hadn’t heard of it before, but I have read a lot of Shannon Hale’s other books and really enjoyed them. Goose Girl is one of my favourite books, and I am looking forward to reading Dangerous – it seems quite different from her other work. Expect a review soon!

DSCF1461

I would highly recommend both of these shops to any bookworms in or visiting New York City!

 

7 thoughts on “Bookshops of New York!

  1. One day we hope to Welcome you in Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa …. 😉
    Noel & Beth

      • With an airplane it takes as long a a drive with ferry from Enniskillen to London… 😉
        But you are Welcome Jenny! anytime!!!

        Noel & Beth

  2. Funny – I can’t imagine what Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares is like for young people. Hammett and Hellman’s dares would in real life be for a more mature readership!

Leave a Reply

