Review: We Were Liars – E.Lockhart

DSCF3811

We Were Liars

E.Lockhart

Hot Key Books, 2014

YA

‘She made me act normal. Because I was. Because I could.’

Cadence Sinclair Eastman has been suffering migraines since her accident two years ago. She can’t remember much of what happened during her fifteenth summer. But the Sinclairs do not suffer openly, and Cady must keep up appearances. Now, at last, she is returning to the island. Reunited with Johnny, Mirren and Gat, her fellow Liars, she is determined to find out the truth behind her accident.  What she discovers is more devastating than she could ever have imagined…

E. Lockhart’s new book is an incredible read. It is completely gripping, and the truth revealed at the end really surprised me. The characters are strong, and the sense of mystery is compelling. Phrases are repeated throughout the book, to create a sense of layers as we come closer and closer to the truth. The language was beautiful; phrases like ‘I was pure liquid loss’ and ‘There isn’t a Scrabble word for how bad I feel’ made Lockhart’s writing a joy to read, as did the fairytales used throughout to tell the story of the aunts. She uses metaphors of blood and injury throughout to striking effect, to reflect not only Cady’s pain, but to show how the family has been broken by greed and grief. I loved this book so much that once I had finished, I turned back to the start and read it over again. One of the most surprising books I have ever encountered, and also one of the best written.

Reviewed for LoveReading – check out the other reviewers’ thoughts on We Were Liars here.

DSCF3808

Some more quotes from We Were Liars (I couldn’t resist!):

“He was contemplation and enthusiasm. Ambition and strong coffee.”

“He is right.

I do want people to feel sorry for me. I do.

And then I don’t.

I do.

And then I don’t.”

“for a moment, the two of us were alone on the planet, with all the vastness of the sky and the future and the past spreading out around us.”

“See the world as it is, not as you wish it to be.”

This is the first E.Lockhart book I have read, but I will certainly be reading more in the future!

 

3 thoughts on “Review: We Were Liars – E.Lockhart

  1. I almost didn’t click on this review because of the cover of the book. I know, I know, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but I’m shallow like that 😛 I’m glad I did now! This sounds like a great book, and I can’t wait to find out what the twist is. Adding to my TBR now!

    • I am delighted my review changed your mind, it is a fantastic book! 🙂 I definitely think covers play a huge role in what books we all pick though, especially when just browsing in a bookshop! Thank you so much for commenting, hope you enjoy We Were Liars 🙂

  2. Pingback: Review: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart | The books, the art and me

Leave a Reply

