Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year So Far

I haven’t had as much time as I would have liked for reading this year, with essays and exams, but I have read some really excellent books and plan to do lots and lots of summer reading!

1. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell.

DSCF3797
How I loved this book! I really connected with Cath, and I felt this book explored the difficulties of starting college very truthfully. I also loved how it explored the wonderful world of fanfiction. Read my review of Fangirl here.

2. We Were Liars – E.Lockhart

DSCF3811

This is an excellent read, beautifully written and with a very unexpected twist at the end. I loved it so much that once I finished I went right back to the start and read it all over again. Review coming very soon!

3. Attachments – Rainbow Rowell

DSCF3857

This book made me laugh a lot, but it was also very moving. A warm hearted tale of friendship – I can’t wait for Landline, Rainbow Rowell’s next book.

4.  Belinda – Maria Edgeworth

DSCF3858

I read this book for one of my college courses, The Marriage Plot, and I absolutely loved it. This is one Jane Austen fans will enjoy, and has a fantastic character in Lady Delacour who has wonderful lines such as ‘Having told you my fortune, need I add, that I, or it, had lovers in abundance – of all sorts and degrees – not to reckon those, it may be presumed, who died of concealed passions for me.’

5, Apple and Rain – Sarah Crossan

DSCF3852

This was one of the books I was really looking forward to reading this year, and it certainly didn’t disappoint. It is a very touching book, and I loved how Crossan worked the poems into the novel. Review coming very soon!

6. How They Met And Other Stories – David Levithan

DSCF3851

I’m cheating a bit here as I have only just started this one, but I know it will be a favourite! It is a series of short stories about love, and is as wonderfully written as Levithan’s other work. Can’t wait to read more.

7. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making – Catherynne M. Valente

DSCF0916

This is a wonderful fairytale adventure, with wry narration and a magical world. The illustrations are beautiful, and doesn’t it have a fantastic title? Read my review here.

8. Just Listen – Sarah Dessen

DSCF3856

This is only the second Sarah Dessen book I have read, but I will certainly be reading more in future! This is one music lovers will enjoy, it also has an unusual romance, and deals brilliantly with sensitive issues. A very memorable read.

9. The Swan Thieves – Elizabeth Kostova

DSCF3854

While I didn’t love this book as much as Kostova’s previous book The Historian, it was a very engaging read, and had plenty of art! The characters are very memorable, and I loved how the 19th century sub plot was weaved into the main story.

10. After Iris – Natasha Farrant

DSCF3834

This was a very emotional tale, but also very quirky. I loved the Gadsby family, and can’t wait to read more of their adventures! Read my review here.

Post a link to your Top Ten Tuesday below and I’ll check it out, it would be great to get some book recommendations!

 

 

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year So Far

  1. Just Listen! YES. I love Sarah Dessen. Have you read The Truth about Forever? I think that’s my favorite Dessen book.
    Also, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making is a brilliant title. I’m definitely intrigued. I’m going to go read your review now! 🙂

    • I haven’t! The only other Sarah Dessen book I’ve read is Last Chance, but I hope to read more of her books this summer.
      And I would definitely recommend it – very witty and full of magic!
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      • I LOVE The Truth about Forever. Looking forward to your thoughts on it and her other books.
        Checked out your review. I’m definitely adding it to my summer TBR. 🙂

  2. Maria Edgeworth is high on my list of authors to read.How They Met And Other Stories by David Levithan looks really good.I am adding it to my list of books to read.
    Really enjoyed your post and also thanks for commenting on my blog.

  3. I haven’t actually read any of these yet, but you list quite a few that I want to read! I heard so many good things about The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making and Fangirl that I’ll have to check them out soon. And The Historian is one of my all time favorite books and I’ve been curious to read The Swan Theives, and now you’ve made me want to read it. 🙂

  4. I definitely agree with Fangirl and We Were Liars!! The short stories by David Levithan look really good… I’ll have to add that one to my TBR. Nice list!

  5. I love Sarah Dessen’s books! I’ve seen We Were Liars around with pretty good reviews, so I’m pretty excited to read it. Yes, Rainbow Rowell is awesome – I love your list 🙂

  6. LOVE how you took photos of all these books 🙂 such a love way to do it. I’m getting We Were Liars for review soon and I cannot WAIT to read it! Apple and Rain arrived in my mailbox yesterday and that looks fantastic as well.

    The Girl Who Circumnavigated… etc was also lovely. So magical and enchanting and kind of reminded me of Alice in Wonderland with real-world elements. Great list!

  7. I still haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell. There’s just something about the covers that make me not want to read them. I know, that’s bad…

  8. This is a good list and you definitely have given me some books to be added to me TBR list.
    I have noticed a lot of lists have We Were Liars on it. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making sounds like it would be really fun.

Leave a Reply

