Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Hello lovely readers,

My life was taken over by study and exams for a while, but now it’s summer and I am back!

To kickstart the blog again, here is a review of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. It is one of the best books I have read so far this year, and is definitely one of my all-time favourite books. It was so hard to put down, and I really connected with it. I also loved Rainbow Rowell’s other books Eleanor & Park and Attachments, and I am very excited for her next novel Landline.

DSCF3797Fangirl

Macmillan 2013

YA

Rainbow Rowell’s latest YA novel is one teens,  students and Harry Potter fans can all relate to. Cath is dealing with starting college and moving away from home; and to make things worse, her twin sister and best friend Wren has decided it’s time they go their separate ways. Wren is the outgoing one, and quiet, shy Cath struggles to settle into her new surroundings. When she arrives at her dorm room, she meets her prickly roommate Regan and Regan’s enigmatic friend Levi. Faced with so much change, Cath immerses herself in the comforting and familiar world of the fanfiction she writes about Simon Snow (a Harry Potter-like character), but she can’t hide from her new life forever…

As someone who found college very difficult to get used to at first, I really related to Cath. I feel Cath is a heroine many young readers will be able to connect to, particularly young readers who know the feeling of being completely engrossed in the world of a series. I liked that she was quite ordinary, which made her a very believable character. While I loved Levi’s character I felt he was too good to be true at times, and certainly less credible than Cath.

My love of Harry Potter and the world of fanfiction it has inspired also helped my obsession with Fangirl. It was great to see a novel explore fanfiction, and how it gives readers a chance to further explore and engage with the fictional worlds they love, as well as offering a kind of escapism. After reading Fangirl I would love to read the Simon Snow series, and Cath’s fanfiction of course!  I also enjoyed seeing Cath’s growth as a writer throughout the book, and her journey of self-discovery.

A very moving and gripping read, Fangirl is the kind of book I would like to see emerging in the New Adult category. I think this genre could be used to examine the student experience, and feature protagonists in their twenties.

Fangirl was a book that I connected to, but also one that reminded me why I love reading and YA books so much.  It is now one of my favourite books, and certainly one I can see myself returning to again and again. Highly recommended!

DSCF3801

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I just finished it last night, and I loved it as well! I really liked the way I felt like I could connect with Cath, and how she developed like a real person as the story went on. Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing writer, and I was hooked right from the beginning. Awesome review! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year | The books, the art and me

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 It is such a fantastic book, I really connected with it. Very excited for Landline to come out. Thanks for the comment and the follow!

  3. What a cute little blog you have here!! I enjoyed the book as well. I suspect I’m a little older then you so seems like RR managed to capture all ages of audience.

Leave a Reply

