Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

The very wonderful Patrick Ness will be at the Mountains to Sea festival this Saturday (tickets here). I’m very excited about this event, and of course about meeting Patrick Ness – in preparation, here’s my review of his new YA novel More Than This.

Proof copy of More Than This

Review copy of More Than This, in all its yellow glory!

Seth has just died. But then he wakes up, in a strange but somehow familiar place. There is no way he could have survived, so where is he now? Is this what comes next? Is it Seth’s personal hell, or is it all in his head? All he knows is that now, nothing is certain… 

Patrick Ness’ new YA novel is a thrilling read, because it is just so unpredictable. It raises many deep questions, to which there are no definitive answers. Through poignant flashbacks and Seth’s new experiences a story is slowly pieced together, packed with twists, surprises and possibilities. As well as being a compelling science fiction/dystopian read More Than This is also a sensitively written coming of age tale. It was utterly gripping, and stayed in my mind long after I had finished reading…it took a while before I was even able to write about it! This is not an easy book to categorise, and it is definitely one that will challenge readers.

I have never read anything quite like More Than This, and I was enthralled by its complex plot, while also connecting with it on an emotional level. Highly recommended for readers aged 14+ looking for a book that will make them think and question, and indeed for anyone who has ever wondered whether there is more than this…

DSCF4639

Reviewed for LoveReading4Kids.

3 thoughts on “Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

    • I’m very glad you will be reading it – it’s a great book! I think it’s hard to review because it’s just so amazing, and it takes time to get your head around it! I was lucky enough to meet Patrick Ness at a book festival I was working at, and he was lovely 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | The books, the art and me

Leave a Reply

