Exciting News! (Of book guides and gallery tours)

Isn't it lovely? Cover illustration by the wonderful Niamh Sharkey (current Laureate na nÓg)

Isn’t it lovely? Cover illustration by the wonderful Niamh Sharkey (current Laureate na nÓg)

The new Mad About Books guide was launched recently, it’s a guide published by Dubray Books to help parents, teachers, librarians or young readers find great new reads. This is exciting news for me because I was an assistant editor on the project. I proof read the document, did one of the reviews (of Mo Willem’s charming picture book Knuffle Bunny) and wrote several author profiles. It was wonderful to see my name printed in the credits! (see image below) The guide is a great resource; fiction books are separated into different age categories, there are also sections for poetry and non-fiction, as well as an excellent piece at the end on books about different issues. There are also lots of author profiles, interviews and book suggestions. I would highly recommend it for finding books for all ages, babies, children, young adults, or adults like myself with a passion for children’s and teen fiction. All that, and more, for only €2!

My name (Jenny Duffy) is at the end of the first paragraph. Excitement!

My name (Jenny Duffy) is at the end of the first paragraph. Excitement!

And my other piece of exciting news is that today I gave my first tour in the National Gallery of Ireland! The group was over in Dublin for a conference, and I showed them around the Irish rooms. I was quite nervous, but once I got into the tour I had a lot of fun, and I feel it went really well. Thankfully, the group seemed to think so too! This tour was a one-off, but I’m hoping to do more tour guiding in the future. Onwards and upwards!

Coming soon: lots of arty London posts, Mountains to Sea book festival madness and more reviews. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

