Top Ten Tuesday #2 Top Ten Best Movie Adaptations

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, perfect for those who love books and lists. (Or even better – both!) This week’s list is Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations.

I’m going with Best Movie Adaptations, and I’m guessing these lists will create a few disagreements! (For example, I really enjoyed The Great Gatsby recently, which I know has mixed reviews) Movie adaptations are such a tricky thing, especially when you love the book! I am looking forward to Catching Fire, The Fault in our Stars and Divergent, but I really hope they are done well.

Leave a link to your TTT below, I would love to read it!

1) Harry Potter
The Harry Potter books obviously win out here, but I also adore the films. Some of my favourite bits were left out, and I thought Ginny’s character was much stronger in the books, but overall the film series is well cast, entertaining and magical.  They really brought Hogwarts and the wizarding world to life for me.


Although technically it’s not a movie, I couldn’t not mention A Very Potter Musical here, as it is a thing of wonder. If you haven’t watched it, you’re in for a treat.

2) Stardust
I love the Stardust movie, it was one of the rare cases in which I saw the movie before the book. The book is very different to the film, even in terms of audience. The book is definitely for adults, whereas the film is strongly family-oriented. I love the soundtrack, the beautiful settings, and the sense of magic and adventure.

3) Pride and Prejudice BBC Mini Series
I adore this version of Pride and Prejudice for its faithfulness to the original and its wonderful production. Also, since it’s a mini-series, it’s really long! Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourite novels, and I adore this production. Check out the ball scene below.


Honourable Pride and Prejudice mention has to go to YouTube sensation The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, which is a modern day adaptation of the classic novel, told through Lizzie’s vlogs. One of my favourite things about this version is its treatment of Lydia – she is made into a much more rounded and sympathetic character. Also – costume theatre!

4) The Princess Bride
My list would be inconceivable without this movie! Again, I watched the movie before reading the book (which I also really enjoyed.) This film has an amazing sword fight, is insanely quotable, and generally wonderful. The sword fight scene is below. Seriously, just watch it!

5) Ella Enchanted

Both book and movie tell a great fairytale story, with a strong female heroine. Magical! I adore fairytales, and while book and movie differ, both are really enjoyable.

6) The Princess Diaries  Again the film and book differ greatly (where were Tina and Boris? Mia’s dad was killed off in the film, Clarisse is nice… ) but I enjoy both. The second movie not so much, as it has absolutely no basis in the books. A light and fun watch, and yay Anne Hathaway!

7) Little Women

I love both the film versions I have seen of this movie, and thought they captured the book really well. Jo is one of my favourite literary characters, and I love the relationship between the sisters. Both book and films are classics, enjoy! I went for the modern version here, but I also love the Katherine Hepburn version.

8) Sense and Sensibility

While I had a bit of trouble believing that Alan Rickman had no evil ulterior motive, I really enjoyed this film adaptation. I am a big Jane Austen fan, and I thought Emma Thompson was wonderful in the role of Elinor, and Hugh Laurie was hilarious.

9) Matilda

Matilda is my favourite Roald Dahl book (it is, after all, about a bookworm!) and I thought the movie captured a lot of the humour of the book, and also how scary Miss Trunchball is!

10) The Spiderwick Chronicles

I really enjoyed this film, but I do wish the events of The Ironwood Tree had been included, as this was my favourite book in the series. However it was a fun and magical film, with plenty of adventure.

Happy Tuesday! 😀

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #2 Top Ten Best Movie Adaptations

  1. Ah these are so great. And love the AVPM and LBD references 🙂 I’d probably have pretty much the same list, but would replace the last two with Lord of the Rings and Sherlock (BBC and RDJ films). And I have to admit that while the princess Diaries 2 has no basis in the books, I still prefer it (maybe a little bit because of Chris Pine. A Little) 😛

  2. I LOOOOVVVEEEE The Little Women movie. I used to watch it over and over again as a kid. I wanted to BE Jo March. I can’t believe I left it off my list. (By the way: I totally agree with your view on book Ginny vs. movie Ginny in Harry Potter.)

    • Me too, Jo is definitely my favourite March sister 😀 And yes, it’s annoying Ginny’s character wasn’t as strong in the movies! I loved how fiery she was in the books, whereas in the movie she’s basically just the love interest. But overall, I love the series. Thanks for the comment!

  3. I need to watch Pride and Prejudice. I have it already, but for some reason it’s taking me ages to get to it. I bought it because I always see people talking about how faithful it is.

    • Thanks! 😀 And I do indeed, it’s amazing! 😀 I’m rewatching it at the moment with my sister who hasn’t seen it before. I love AVPS too, but haven’t seen Senior Year yet. I really want to watch it…but know it will mean missing out on a lot of sleep! What are your favourite AVPM moments/characters? 😀 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

