Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

This is my first Top Ten Tuesday, as hosted by http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/ and I’m very excited! So here we go, in the order I read them, my top ten YA reads of 2013 (so far!) Apologies for the lack of images!

1. Divergent – Veronica Roth

I loved this fast-paced dystopian novel, especially the idea of a society divided into factions. Tris  was a very strong lead character, and I can’t wait to see what happens in Insurgent. Also looking forward to the film!

2. Paper Towns – John Green

My favourite John Green book, I thought it was beautifully written. I loved the metaphor of the strings, and Margo was a really vivid character. It made me think about how I view other people, and I loved the use of Walt Whitman throughout. Also, some beautiful quotes – ‘A paper town for a paper girl.’

3. By Any Other Name – Laura Jarratt

This was a really enjoyable read, that mixed thriller, romance and family elements well. Strong characters, and an exciting yet plausible plot. Holly’s character developed really well during the book, as she learnt who she wanted to be. I definitely want to read Skin Deep, Jarratt’s first novel.

4. An Abundance of Katherines – John Green

I loved Colin, anagramming child prodigy extraordinaire, and his best friend Hassan. Plenty of laughs, a road trip, and a journey of self discovery. I also loved the idea of trying to find an equation for love!

5. The Weight of Water – Sarah Crossan

I had doubts about the poetry format of this novel, but I was wrong. It worked beautifully, and was a very moving tale. Innovative, fresh and touching – I loved it!

6. Seraphina – Rachel Hartman

A brilliantly atmospheric fantasy novel, which also has a strong mystery plot. The world building was incredible, and I loved the strong female lead and the descriptions of music.

7. Prim Improper & Improper Order – Deirdre Sullivan

Cheating slightly as this is a series, but still! Prim is one of my new favourite fictional characters, and I love how distinctive her voice is. Prim is both wonderfully snarky and witty, and very sad. Deirdre Sullivan handles both elements brilliantly, resulting in books that are both laugh-out-loud funny and moving.

8. Rose Under Fire – Elizabeth Wein

This was a brilliant historical novel, telling the tale of a female ATA pilot during World War Two. It uses a diary format, and there are some beautiful poems throughout the account. A haunting tale, this is definitely worth a read!

9. Poison Study, Magic Study and Fire Study – Maria V Snyder

A trilogy, but I couldn’t pick just one! Brilliant fantasy/adventure tales with lots of magic, adventure, romance and intrigue. They are also quite dark, and deal with some difficult issues. I loved the lead character Yelena – brave, intelligent and resourceful, she is definitely a strong female lead!

10. Picture Me Gone – Meg Rosoff

This was a really unusual read, and I loved Mila. Her skill at reading people and atmosphere made for a compelling mystery read, but also a touching coming of age story as she sees the darker side of life. I loved the strong relationship with her parents, particularly her father. A memorable read.

So that’s my top ten of 2013 so far, in order of reading. Looking forward to lots more great reads! If you’ve taken part in Top Ten Tuesday leave a link to your list below, I’d love to check it out! 🙂

 

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

  1. I can’t wait for Allegiant! I have an arc of Rose Under Fire that I really need to get working on. I am saving it for vacation. I am so excited!

  2. Great list! I really need to get onto Divergent now that the movie is being made. And I also need to get onto more John Green (I’ve only read The Fault In Our Stars and Will Grayson, Will Grayson).
    – Rachel

Leave a Reply

